Paint paint paint 

At the start of 2017, I made a goal. That goal was to paint. Actively paint. Stop all the excuses and bs about not having enough time, and make it happen. 

Since then I’ve been honestly keeping up with this and my my, what a great decision that has been. 

I forgot how much painting helps my head. It’s a hidden stress reliever. Meditation without the realization that you’re meditating. 

In the last few months, I’ve had the pleasure of live painting at a few events. If you are a painter, I’d highly recommend trying this out. It’s a very interesting experience. You get to feed off of the other people’s energy and vibes. You get constant waves of interest and support in whatever it is you are doing. Also, it’s a great way to make connections with fellow people in the game, as well as potential future clients.

The first time I went, i was at an event for Columbia college. It was an event put on by the students and the theme was the evolution of rap music. I had an idea planned out beforehand. I decided I was going to paint wiz khalifa and went off of a reference, just working through the motions. I was able to vend there and sell prints and art. Nice way to get my name out there while meeting a bunch of cool people. They had live music going was a great motivation to keep chuggin’ along. 

The second time, was at Lunar tide music fest. Multi artist electronic music show. It was super cool because a bunch of my friends got in too and we were all able to paint together. They had a buunch of artists painting as well as other venders so it made for a huge creative community. I came in with a blank canvas and fed off the energy of the situation and people around me. This allowed for a very natural and interesting result. A result I didn’t even see coming. This painting is still a work in progress but I’ve included photos of both.

Definitely looking forward to future live painting opportunities.

Have you ever live painted? How was it? I’d love to hear about your experiences and see what they created 🙂 

Where I netted out after the night
Finished painting
Our setup at lunar tide
Where I netted out after the night
Current state of the painting, still a WIP

Leave a Reply

